Script Frenzy 2010

Some of the less creative aspects of day-to-day life have been keeping me busy lately, but I’m back with news about the latest project in the works.  During April of this year, I’ll be participating in Script Frenzy for the first time.  This is another writing contest from the fabulous people who have brought us NaNoWriMo.  Instead of writing a 50,000 word novel in thirty days, the goal is to complete a 100-page script in that same length of time…  also known as self-imposed insanity in the name of creativity.
Can I do it?  I don’t know.  I am a prose and poetry writer. With the exception penning a contemporary version of Romeo and Juliet for my freshman English class in high school, I’ve never forayed into the script-writing arena.  As I considered whether or not to do this particular challenge, a lot of questions cropped up, mostly about how to format a script and what should and should not be included.  Thankfully, someone has pointed me in the direction of a basic, free scriptwriting software, which should help immensely with the technical details.
That leaves me with only one slight problem, just a minor detail, nothing to worry over.  I only need to come up with a story and characters by April 1st.  April Fool’s Day indeed.  This fool will probably still be wracking her brain to outline a plot.  The good news is that I have some key points already in mind and hopefully can flesh these out into a coherent story.  I’ll save the details for after Script Frenzy begins, as I have been known to switch stories multiple times before settling on one.  Hope to see you all at the Script Frenzy website.  I’ll be the one gnashing my teeth and pulling my hair out… just like all the other participants.
Categories: Writing | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Script Frenzy 2010

  1. Good luck. IME, Script Frenzy is a bit more difficult than NaNoWriMo — especially to someone who doesn't have much experiance w/ scriptwriting.Are you using Celtx? The scriptwriting software has been a lifesaver in the year I tried to do it.Now that I think about it, I probably should post something on my own blog before this comment becomes one 😄

It's your turn to say something.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

