Creative Souls – Katje van Loon

transit stories

my journal is filled with notes on bus routes

schedules

so i may safely get to where i’m going

the next station in my life.

but/and i desperately

wish to break away from this,

to just get on a bus

without noting its number or name

or asking what its sign is and just trusting in this

perfect stranger that could run me over and make me part of the

history of this city’s streets

and to go, go farther than the eye can see

and farther still

till i know nothing of anything

anymore

and still keep going.

and then, when i see something unfamiliar and yet

home

i’ll pull the string and hop off, letting my return-path

squeal and screech away

under its heavy burden of my fellow runaways.

and i’ll stand

looking around

in my new place of existence

a place to expand the zone

of my conformity, my

comfort,

and someone walking by

will stop

and say

how came you by

this hidden land?

and i’ll smile and know

all the stories i read

are true.

~Katje van Loon

I believe in letting creative works speak for themselves and this poem from Katje van Loon certainly says a lot about the talent of its composer. Katje (aka Jana Pierce-von Loon) is a twenty-two year old student who speaks with a surprising maturity and passion. Don’t take my word for it, however. Let’s hear from Katje herself….

What is your primary creative outlet?
Writing. I am a voracious writer, having many journals filled up with rambling, three WIP novels going on, several pieces of random prose, and a few books-worth of poems.

Are you involved in other artistic/creative endeavors?
Yes. I’ve been involved in theatre for roughly two decades now, starting with a brief foray into modelling and then moving into the fields of acting and technical work. I sing and dance as well, most notably being the lead singer for the band Hrunting!, and soon I hope to re-branch into modeling of a different sort.

What artistic mediums or materials do you use?
For writing, a pen and paper for my rough drafts. I then type up using OpenOffice, and the typing up produces my second draft. For theatre I use whatever is at hand. For modeling, my camera is my Nikon CoolPix digital camera and my setting is the world around me.

What are your favorite subjects for creative works?
The human condition in general, really. I use the genre of speculative fiction to tell tales of it, but whether I’m writing about actual humans or Magi or whatever else, I’m still writing about the human condition. I’m also a hopeless romantic who believes in sacred sexuality, so my stories do focus on love and sex as topics as well, and how they’re dealt with in the societies I’m writing about, and whether that should be the ‘norm’ or not.
Another topic I touch on is power — who has it, how they use it, and is it really any better when one group has it versus another? My current story deals with a matriarchal society and explores whether or not women would do any better than men have with that sort of power. Following that, my works are decidedly feminist — meaning I do not write my female characters from a male-dominated viewpoint.

What are your inspirations? Where do your ideas come from?
Everything, really. Sometimes an idea will come from my studies of mythology, or sometimes something I see on my daily walk to school will inspire me. Other times I’ll come up with a title and create a story around it.
As far as people as inspirations, my mother is my major one. She’s a writer as well, and the first (and continuing) example I ever had of a strong woman. She used to live alone with her dogs up in the north, where she ran her own store, danced as a saloon girl, worked as a bar wench carrying twenty-pound trays on one arm back and forth across the room, and beat the living hell out of someone when he took his inappropriate behavior a step too far. Nowadays she writes her books and takes care of, well, everything in her life with vigor and grace you wouldn’t expect from a survivor of the World’s Worst Divorce (or WWD, as we call it). She is my perfect example of a blending of roles — warrior, mother, bard, priestess, lover — and most of my female characters are based on an aspect of her in some way.

Favorite quote:
“Everything we do is futile, but we must do it anyway.” -Mahatma Ghandi.
“In isolation, one can never be great.” — Kaimana Wolff (aka Eva van Loon, my mother).

Favorite artist/writer/musician/creative soul :
I have a long list, but the writer in my field that I admire the most is Ursula K. LeGuin. My favorite artist is a friend of mine named Autumn Skye Morrison .

In Your Own Words:
The most important thing to remember is not to strive for relevance. Things will be relevant to the right person at the right time — it’s not something you can try to achieve. Relevancy is not a goal. This is something I try to remind myself of everyday, every time I write. And I find in my most trivial ramblings, someone finds something true. Then I know I’ve done my job.

Where can your works be found?
My short prose and some poetry can be found at http://muertastears.wordpress.com/ . My website is http://ca.geocities.com/mtimpri/index.htm/ . Starting in early 2009 my novel Bellica will be found in your local bookstore (gods willing).

Categories: Creative Souls, Writing | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Creative Souls – Katje van Loon

  1. “…talent of its composer. […] a twenty-two year old student who speaks with a surprising maturity and passion.”You are too kind. :)Thank you for posting this. It made my day. 🙂

It's your turn to say something.

Blog at WordPress.com.

