Works In Progress – At Scythe Point

For those of you who known me since before this blog was created, I’ve finally gotten back to revising my NaNoWriMo novel from last year.

For those who have no idea what language I’m speaking, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month, an annual online challenge to write a novel of at least 50,000 words during the month of November. I really didn’t have the time for this contest last year, but I committed myself to the project anyway because I was in need of the comfy therapy couch that is fiction writing.

At Scythe Point is, at the moment, a hastily written novel about a woman working in the employment of Death. Yes, that’s Death with a capital D, the big guy in black who rides a pale horse. Working for him has certain advantages, like immortality and a healthy bank account. Unfortunately, it also means an eternity spent reaping souls and unfortunately, Death doesn’t offer a retirement plan, unless you count a six-feet deep hole in the ground complete with casket and engraved tombstone. When Viviane Morow wearies of reaping souls, she finds herself in a no-win situation where several lives hang in the balance and where her own future is being held at scythe point. (Wow, this needs to go on the back of the book jacket. The synopsis may be more interesting than the novel, dammit).

I’m in the process of working my way through the second draft now, trying to make sense of my 1500+ word/day writing frenzy. The last few chapters are in desperate need of a complete overhaul and I need to work on developing the characters a bit more. Death is the only character that is, pardon the pun, fleshed out fully right now. Of course, a being whose only job is to make sure everyone dies in the end doesn’t exactly need a complex personality. Imagine what a world it would be if Death suddenly developed empathy and a conscious. Hmm, maybe that would be a good sequel for At Scythe Point. 🙂

I don’t know if it will ever see the light of day, but At Scythe Point has been a joy to write so far. I’m hoping to get the rewrite done shortly and maybe share it with a friend or two. Then I think I’m going to put it away for awhile. After all, November, NaNoWriMo, and the next novel are just around the corner.

Categories: Writing | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

It's your turn to say something.

Blog at WordPress.com.

